The Chicago Diner

As I continue my vegetarian lifestyle, my appreciation for vegan food has increased significantly. I know being a vegetarian and a vegan is completely different, but having vegan food as an option has made being a vegetarian even more enjoyable.

Anyone and everyone should go to The Chicago Diner (even if you eat meat). They have two locations, the original in Boystown, and the second one in Logan Square. I’ve been to both but I prefer the ambiance of the Logan Square location. They are busy at all times of the day, but it’s definitely worth the wait (no reservations taken).

I’ve been there enough times to try a variety of things, but my must have appetizer is the Special Recipe Wingz served with vegan ranch (so good you will want to drink it) and celery. You can choose from two styles, bbq or spicy buffalo. Unless you can’t take the heat, always pick spicy buffalo. The savory flavor and hearty seitan goodness on the inside, makes these wings irresistible.

Special Recipe Wingz

Vegan Spicy Buffalo Special Recipe Wingz

During my recent dine-in, I ordered the Gyros. Unmistakably, a great decision. The succulent seitan gyros were sandwiched in pita bread with chopped onions, tomatoes, and lettuce, with vegan tzatziki sauce. This combination was heaven in my mouth and until this day I salivate at the thought of it (too much info, I know).

Gyros

Vegan Gyros

Among the many amazing drinks offered on their menu, the vegan shakes are SPECTACULAR! I once had the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough shake. I don’t know how they do it, but it’s better than any shake I’ve ever had.  You also might want to share; the regular is good for two.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough shake

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough shake

Well that’s enough of me convincing you why you should go to The Chicago Diner. JUST GO!

Location: 

Boystown 3411 N. Halsted St. Chicago, IL 60657

Logan Square 2333 N. Milwaukee Ave. Chicago, IL 60647

2 thoughts on “The Chicago Diner

Leave a comment